Timothy D. Girard, MD, MSCI

Associate Professor of Critical Care Medicine

Contact Information


Administrative Contact:

Education & Training

BA, University Scholars, Baylor University, 1996
MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, 2000
Residency, Internal Medicine, University of Virginia Health System, 2003
Fellowship, Pulmonary and Critical Care, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, 2007
MSCI, Master of Science in Clinical Investigation, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, 2007

Research, Clinical & Academic Interests

  • Long-term outcomes after critical illness
  • Delirium during critical illness and subsequent cognitive outcomes
  • Sedation of critically ill patients
  • Liberation from mechanical ventilation

Girard TD, Kress JP, Fuchs BD, Thomason JW, Schweickert WD, Pun BT, Taichman DB, Dunn JG, Pohlman AS, Kinniry PA, Jackson JC. Efficacy and safety of a paired sedation and ventilator weaning protocol for mechanically ventilated patients in intensive care (Awakening and Breathing Controlled trial): a randomised controlled trial. The Lancet. 2008 Jan 12;371(9607):126-34.

Hughes CG, Patel MB, Brummel NE, Thompson JL, McNeil JB, Pandharipande PP, Jackson JC, Chandrasekhar R, Ware LB, Ely EW, Girard TD. Relationships between markers of neurologic and endothelial injury during critical illness and long-term cognitive impairment and disability. Intensive Care Medicine. 2018 Mar 1;44(3):345-55.

Girard TD, Exline MC, Carson SS, Hough CL, Rock P, Gong MN, Douglas IS, Malhotra A, Owens RL, Feinstein DJ, Khan B. Haloperidol and Ziprasidone for Treatment of Delirium in Critical Illness. New England Journal of Medicine. 2018 Oct 22.

Samuels DC, Hulgan T, Fessel JP, Billings IV FT, Thompson JL, Chandrasekhar R, Girard TD. Mitochondrial DNA Haplogroups and Delirium During Sepsis. Critical care medicine. 2019 Aug 1;47(8):1065-71.

► Full listing on Pub Med

Director of CRISMA Center
Director, CRISMA Long-Term Outcomes Core

Summa cum laude, Baylor University , 1996
Southwestern Medical Foundation Scholarship, UT Southwestern Medical School, 1996-2000
Hartford Geriatrics Health Outcomes Research Scholars Award, 2007
Elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation, 2020