The Clinical Research, Investigation, and Systems Modeling of Acute Illness (CRISMA) Center is an interdisciplinary research group focusing on clinical and translational research in critical illness. CRISMA contains over 30 epidemiologists, biostatisticians, mathematicians and physician-scientists collaborating on multiple federally-funded and industry-sponsored research projects. CRISMA investigators promote innovation across the translational spectrum, with ongoing work in basic research, clinical research, implementation science, ethics and decision making, and health care delivery. CRISMA was founded in 2001.

Major research domains include:

  • Sepsis and acute lung injury
  • Organ dysfunction, support, and recovery
  • Computational biology and mechanistic modeling of disease
  • Precision medicine and predictive analytics
  • Implementation and decision science

Research Programs
CRISMA is organized into five academic programs which serve as the locus for individual faculty, staff, and trainees with the Center:

Research Cores
The five CRISMA research programs receive support services through four scientific cores: 

Research Training in CRISMA
CRISMA investigators have a long history of training successful clinician scientists through an integrated program of mentoring, didactic education, and experiential research. Our trainees typically pursue careers in academic medicine, with many achieving leadership roles in institutions across the US and the world. Research training is available through two avenues:

  • Our CRISMA research fellowship, a rigorous 2-3 year training program supported by an NIH training grant (T32)
  • The CRISMA Visiting Scholar program, in which self-funded international visitors can interact with our faculty and staff

For more information about the visiting scholar program, please contact the CRISMA Director of Research Strategy Administration.




Timothy D. Girard, MD, MSCI
Associate Professor of Critical Care Medicine

Administration Director

ali.smith [at] (Ali Smith-Scott)
Director, Research Strategy Administration