New OB CCM Fellowship Pathway Announced
Thursday, October 27, 2022 2:34 PM

Maternal mortality rates in the United States reached 23.8 deaths per 100,000 live births in 2020, the highest among industrialized nations, and driven by the high medical complexity of our aging maternal population, as well as racial and geographic disparities (Maternal Mortality Rates in the United States,… Read more…

Scandinavia: Foundation of Modern Intensive Care Medicine

At the 2022 annual congress for the Scandinavian Society of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine (SSAI), Michael Pinsky, MD delivered…

Two Centers for Adult & Pediatric Critical Illness Recovery

After discharge from the ICU following a life-threatening injury or illness, many patients—both adults and children—experience significant health problems that…

19th Annual Safar Symposium Welcomed Freedom House 2.0

The 19th Annual Safar Symposium, held as a hybrid event on May 26-27, 2021, introduced attendees to Freedom House…

Melinda Hamilton Graduates from ELAM Leadership Program

Professor Melinda Hamilton, MD, MS graduated in the class of 2022 from the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic…

Full news archive >


Full events calendar >

"We experienced the frustrations of trying to provide respirator care for unconscious patient care in various locations of the hospital without the help of trained inhalation therapists and specialty trained nurses. In 1958 therefore, we initiated and established an Intensive Care Unit adjacent to the post-anesthesia recovery room."

- Peter Safar, MD, cardiopulmonary resuscitation pioneer